Page 3 of 10

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 8:19 am
by schroederzone
Yep that seemd to do it. Thanks for the help. :)

Same problem

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:26 am
by ChumleyEX
I'm having the same problem I have tried putting this into a couple of the scripts ( I don't know what I'm doing but I'm trying. ) I have looked around and this is the only thing I'm stuck on. I try to add it to the settings script and the mappoint and I get several diffrent errors.


[quote="goldfndr"]I doublechecked the code, and to me it looks right. I'm wondering if you didn't heed this line in the settings:
'Icons are branched off the script's folder

What you can do to check this is to edit ns04mappoint.vbs, and just above this line:
cSymbol1 = .Symbols.Add(nameDir & cSymbol1)
add this line:
MsgBox "I'm looking for a file named:" & vbCRLF & nameDir & cSymbol1
and that will show where it's looking.

If that still doesn't show the error then please declare your cSymbol1 setting.

Upon further analysis, it looks like the useCustIcon setting isn't being honoured - the custom icons are always added to MapPoint even if you don't want them. This code might work:
if useCustIcon then
if not FSO.FileExists(nameDir & cSymbol1) or not FSO.FileExists(nameDir & cSymbol2) or not FSO.FileExists(nameDir & cSymbol3) or not FSO.FileExists(nameDir & cSymbol4) then
useCustIcon = "Unable to find the following custom icons, disabling feature:"
if not FSO.FileExists(nameDir & cSymbol1) then useCustIcon = useCustIcon & vbCRLF & nameDir & cSymbol1
if not FSO.FileExists(nameDir & cSymbol2) then useCustIcon = useCustIcon & vbCRLF & nameDir & cSymbol2
if not FSO.FileExists(nameDir & cSymbol3) then useCustIcon = useCustIcon & vbCRLF & nameDir & cSymbol3
if not FSO.FileExists(nameDir & cSymbol4) then useCustIcon = useCustIcon & vbCRLF & nameDir & cSymbol4
MsgBox useCustIcon, vbCritical, nameScript
useCustIcon = False
else
...
end if
end if

after making useCustIcon a non-const (gee, that whole section is non-const-able!)

Can I blame Laidback? ]

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 5:27 pm
by kiltjim
I managed to get rid of all the errors related to missing folders, and all that. Now, the script won't close on it own. The system32.exe -etc... window remains open, until I close it myself. It seems to be looking for the GPS.

Any suggestions?

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 5:51 pm
by wrzwaldo
kiltjim wrote:I managed to get rid of all the errors related to missing folders, and all that. Now, the script won't close on it own. The system32.exe -etc... window remains open, until I close it myself. It seems to be looking for the GPS.

Any suggestions?


A new hobby?

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 6:45 pm
by kiltjim
Thanks. What I should have asked is: Is there an option, or a line argument that I should change or add to get it to do it itself.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 6:26 am
by Sweex
schroederzone wrote:OK I'm trying to use the master script. But it's not working for me. I did some searching and I'm not sure what to do with this script. Do I need to edit this script? If so where. (be gentle I'm new to scripts) I've done some searching but haven't been getting any clear cut answers.

Ive been trying to run it but get this error:

Microsoft (R) Windows Script Host Version 5.6
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation 1996-2001. All rights reserved.

C:\Program Files\Network Stumbler\ns04thread.vbs(48, 24) Microsoft VBScript runt
ime error: Path not found

What have I done wrong?
Thanks


I had the same problem, but somewhere in one of the script files you can set
"UseThreading" on False. It does not change the functionality (Speech/GPS mapping etc), but it solves the problem;-)

I realy want to thank all the people who worked on this great script; Marius, Laidback, roggerRabbit, Tpeer and ofcause Goldfndr!


The script works here great on the following config:

-Windows XP pro on a very old laptop (PII / 128MB ram)
-Holux GM200 USB mouse, forwarded to Comport 3 (by driver)
-Avaya Silver Card (Lucent/Orinoco chipset) + Car-wardrive antenna
-AC/DC 12v converter to connect the latop to the carbattery


Thanks again & Keep up the good work :)

PS Due note the script is standard set to use Digle instead of mappoint. If you have Mappoint open the ns04settings.vbs in notepad and set Usemappoint to True and UseDigle to False (in line 8 and 9)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 1:47 am
by dadaniel
Is there any solution for this problem yet? :rolleyes:

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 10:25 am
by AK_Sniper
Great script, its very neat! Thanks to goldfndr and everyone else who helped on this script.

I just have one question, the script uses cmd line windows, so far I only got to test it at my house (1 AP) and I get 2 cmd line windows that open, one when the NS opens and script initialize and another when I start scanning. Now when I close NetStumbler the script in them keeps going. and I have to close them manually. Not a big deal but is there anyway I could modify the script to have those windows closed automatically upon NS exit kinda like it does to MapPoint?

Thanks

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:49 am
by mokum
brentc wrote:When I fire up the script, Mappoint opens up as it should, the script says it's using Microsoft Sam (Voice), a dos window opens up with the following error.

C:\Program Files\Network Stumbler\masterscript\ns04thread.vbs(48, 24) Microsoft VBScript runtime error: Path not found :eek:


Create the WAV folder [in the folder where you have the ns04master script].

Optional:
Create voice wav files with http://www.research.att.com/projects/tts/demo.html fantastic stuff :)

Cheers,
mokum

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:51 am
by mokum
kiltjim wrote:I managed to get rid of all the errors related to missing folders, and all that. Now, the script won't close on it own. The system32.exe -etc... window remains open, until I close it myself.


True

kiltjim wrote:It seems to be looking for the GPS.


What leads you this conclusion?

Cheers,
mokum

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 3:49 am
by foq99
brentc wrote:I downloaded the 20041124.zip
I made a folder under C:\Program Files\Network Stumbler\masterscript
I put the scripts in there. Then pointed NetStumbler to ns04master.vbs
I Edited the ns04settings.vbs to use MapPoint insted of DiGLE

When I fire up the script, Mappoint opens up as it should, the script says it's using Microsoft Sam (Voice), a dos window opens up with the following error.

C:\Program Files\Network Stumbler\masterscript\ns04thread.vbs(48, 24) Microsoft VBScript runtime error: Path not found :eek:

Any advice? :confused:



make sure you've edited the ns04settings.vbs -- this has some things you can tweak. One of these is:
Code: Select all
const WavFolder = ".\WAV\"

(or something similar) Change what is in quotes to wherever your .wav files are (in your case, it should be "..\") This is what worked for me.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 9:57 pm
by kiltjim
mokum wrote:What leads you this conclusion?


Because every few seconds (it keeps the counter going in the command window) it says 'G P S not found' (or something similar). I know its looking for the GPS coming from NS, but NS is closed.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:51 pm
by mokum
kiltjim wrote:Thanks. What I should have asked is: Is there an option, or a line argument that I should change or add to get it to do it itself.


No you can't, you will have to close it by hand.

Cheers,
mokum

A few minor changes to script...

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 5:44 am
by ragmanii
I have made a few minor mods to the script I thought I would share. I do not like the fact that the script updates the map with every GPS move. I like to see my car moving on the map and only refresh when it is X pixels (Yes pixels) from the center. I have changed (Snippet ends with "-End Change "):

In ns04settings.vbs (note first line for reference):

'True to centre map on vehicle - Laidback 20040706
'Removed CONST so we can change this variable if you want to only center on certain conditions -RagmanII
'Made variable so we can only center the map if your location is X pixels away from the center -RagmanII
CentreVehicle = 150

-End Change Note that the CenterVehicle can be set to 1 or 0 and it would emulate the true/false condition that was originally in the script.

Then change ns04mappoint.vbs (First line for reference):

Dim BSSID_Signal

'need to know what pixel is the center on the map -RagmanII
Dim CenterPixelX
Dim CenterPixelY

-End Change Then change ns04mappoint.vbs (First line for reference):

Set LastLocation = ActiveMap.GetLocation(Lat, Lon, Alt)

'We need the screen coordinates for map centering calculations -RagmanII
If NOT HadGPSData Then
CenterPixelX = MapPointApp.ActiveMap.LocationToX(LastLocation)
CenterPixelY = MapPointApp.ActiveMap.LocationToY(LastLocation)
End If

-End Change Further down in ns04mappoint.vbs (First line for reference):

If TrackVehicle Then
' Move the visual indicator to the new location.
Set Vehicle.Location = LastLocation
'use CenterVehicle as a number instead of ON/OFF to calculate distance from center of map -RagmanII
If CentreVehicle > 0 Then
' If scanning or first position, center the map on the new location
If ((IsScanning AND ((MapPointApp.ActiveMap.LocationToX(LastLocation)-CenterPixelX) < CentreVehicle OR (MapPointApp.ActiveMap.LocationToX(LastLocation)-CenterPixelX) > (CentreVehicle * -1) OR (MapPointApp.ActiveMap.LocationToY(LastLocation)-CenterPixelY) < CentreVehicle OR (MapPointApp.ActiveMap.LocationToY(LastLocation)-CenterPixelY) > (CentreVehicle * -1))) Or Not HadGPSData) Then
UpdateCurrentLocation Lat, Lon ' by Laidback 030504
'Just in case the user changed resolutions/changed windows size/location.
CenterPixelX = MapPointApp.ActiveMap.LocationToX(LastLocation)
CenterPixelY = MapPointApp.ActiveMap.LocationToY(LastLocation)
End If
End If
End If
HadGPSData = True
End Sub

-End Change Replace all the way through the End Sub.

You can use any number for the center. It is a box, not a circle, so 150 is 300 pixels wide. If you change that to 300 then the box would be 600 pixels wide and 600 tall. If you put in too big of a number then the screen will only refresh when your car is no longer seen on the map.

I started all this because I wanted to be able to calculate a route and if I went off track then it would recalculate the route. With all the screen redraws it was difficult to see what route I should be on. I have that part done with one error. When you get on a highway it recalculates the route wrong. (I guess MS decided that you cant start a route from a highway, so I am redoing that part so that the route will not recalculate until you actually go off track.

I know... you say use AGPS to do that. Yeah.. one problem. Speed. With the screen redraws and APGS my laptop is so slow it starts falling behind. It gets even worse with voice turned on. I could have also done some optimization but I want to complete it first with the route script. I have all the calculations in my head for completing this but I just need to find the few hours it will take to code. I also want to add voice so that when you approach a turn it will automagicaly say where to turn. Well that’s enough for now, I need to get back to my real job. BTW, I did import those changes into "20041124 - master script.zip" and they seemed to work, but I didn’t test it with my laptop so YMMV.

If anyone knows of this already being done let me know. I have not found a script that will recalculate routes like what I am trying to do. Thanks! :)

-RagManII

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 5:39 am
by mandalek
This is a great script, thanks to everyone working on it. I do have a couple of questions...

1) can you run more than one mapping program at the same time with this script?

2) what is the chance that someone will add the code for TOPO?

Thanks

Matt