Beating MAC address filtering

Beating MAC address filtering

Postby Hunter Thompson » Thu May 17, 2007 10:48 pm

Hi Everyone,

I am trying to figure wireless security - my brother has an AP in his room and I am trying to get access to it from my laptop. Please note I am a total newb when it comes to security stuff and we are trying to learn about it by finding holes.

He setup as an unsecured AP at first, and I bought a Netgear WG511v2 card for my laptop which enabled me to connect to the internet through his ap with no problem - in fact, my laptop would just "get connected" by itself - it found the ap and got assigned an IP address automatically and hey presto - I'm surfin the net!

So he did some research to try and secure the connection a bit more, I asked for him to try and do it little by little so we can get past each bit of security one bit at a time. He has now done something to his AP so that I am not being issued an IP address. His SSID is still "default" and there is no encryption enabled.

So now I am trying to get back online through his AP. I have been reading up on what may have caused me to no longer have access and I am assuming he has looked in the ARP table, seen my MAC address accessing his network (I did not spoof my MAC) and somehow made a filter on his ap to only allow his MAC addresses. When I grill him if this is the deal he says "no" to everything else but gets shifty when I bring up MAC filtering- ha, I'm on to you.

So I researched up on MAC addresses, figured out one can "spoof" a MAC address and got myself "Mac Makeup"; I changed my Netgear Wireless Card Mac Address but, still no IP address being issued...